Fighting For Fairness and Treatment of the Worker Delaware?
Have you witnessed employment discrimination at your job? Was there an incident at your workplace, and now you’re wondering what the laws are regarding the fairness and treatment of the worker Delaware?
At the Law Offices of Thomas More Holland, we want to keep you informed of your rights as an employee. If you feel your employee rights have been violated, contact TMH law today to see if you have a claim!
Delaware Employee Rights
Whether you’re employed, unemployed, or somewhere in between you need to be aware of your employee rights in the workplace.
Meals and Breaks
Under Delaware Labor Laws, if you are 18 years or older, and work 7.5 hours or more a day, employers are required to provide you with an unpaid meal break of 30 consecutive minutes or longer. Employees must take their meal break at least 2 hours after they’ve begun working, and 2 hours before their shift is over.
Each state is allowed to set their own minimum wage, and Delaware has set its minimum wage at $8.25 an hour. Every employee must be paid minimum wage or higher.
Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, employees are entitled to overtime pay for any hours worked over 40 hours in a single work week. Employees are entitled to one and a half times their regular pay. Delaware labor laws do not have any separate laws regarding overtime pay so the FLSA laws apply.
Delaware is an ‘employment at-will’ state. That means that an employer and employee can terminate their position for any reason. However, if you are terminated due to race, religion, national origin, sex, age (40 or older), disability, sexual orientation, genetic information, or marital status then you have been wrongfully terminated.
TMH Law wants you to be informed of the fairness and treatment of the worker Delaware. If you have any questions or feel you are being treated unfairly in the workplace, call us today at (215) 839-3075.