Don’t let your employer get away with denying your workers comp claim.
I got hurt at work! What do I do now?
If you are one of the many people who’ve been injured on the job, but you’re unsure of the next steps to take, continue reading to discover the importance of knowing your workers compensation legal rights.
What Is Workmans’ Compensation?
Workmans’ compensation is a state-mandated insurance that provides medical benefits and wage loss compensation for employees that have suffered an on the job injury or illness.
I Got Hurt At Work Can I Sue?
In exchange for workers comp benefits, employees give up the right to sue their employers when they’re suffer from an injury or illness on the job.
What Do I Do Now?
You got hurt at work, and now you must take these important steps to ensure you are provided with the medical benefits, and wage loss compensation you deserve.
- Promptly Report Your Injury – The Pennsylvania Labor Department says it’s important to report your injury immediately. You have 120 days from the time you realize your illness or the time you’ve been injured to report your injury in order to receive workers compensation benefits. If you wait past the 120 days to file your report, your employer will deny your workers’ compensation benefits.
- See an Approved Workers’ Comp Doctor – Your employer should provide you with a list of 6 or more physicians or health care providers that you can seek treatment from for 90 days. If your employer doesn’t provide you with a list of health care providers you are allowed to see a health care provider of your choosing.
- First Report of Occupational Injury Form – Your employer must immediately file a First Report of Occupational Injury form with their workers’ comp insurance and the Bureau of Workers Compensation. Your employer’s workmans’ comp insurer has 21 days to approve or deny your claim. You will receive a Notice of Compensation if your workers’ comp claim has been accepted or Notice of Workers’ Compensation Denial in case of rejection.
If you receive a Notice of Compensation Denial, you have 3 years from the time of your injury to file a Pennsylvania’s Workers’ Compensation Petition.
TMH Law takes the confusing laws of workers’ compensation, and makes it easy for you to understand. If you got hurt at work, the Law Offices of Thomas More Holland want to help you get the compensation you deserve! Contact us today to see if you have a claim.