Experts at TMH Law explain the ins and outs of legal issues surrounding DUI in Pennsylvania.
A DUI attorney could make the difference between having to pay the full price of a DUI (Driving Under the Influence), and walking away from the incident without a blemish on your record. Court costs, fines, jail time—these are all possible consequences of a DUI. With a Philadelphia DUI attorney to defend your case, you may be able to avoid these serious repercussions.
DUI in the state of Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, any driver found culpable of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will be arrested for DUI. Most commonly, you could be found guilty of DUI through measurement of intoxication by the police. If blood alcohol level, or BAC, is found to be .08 or higher, a person is considered to be driving under the influence and will be arrested.
For commercial vehicle drivers and people under 21 years of age, the standards are stricter. A commercial driver can be arrested for having a BAC of .04, while a minor (under age 21) with a BAC level of .02 will be charged.
You may also be arrested if it is found that you have consumed ANY amount of controlled substances such as marijuana or cocaine. Even if you are not physically driving the vehicle—for example, if you are parked—you will be charged for DUI.
Implied Consent Law
The Pennsylvania Implied Consent Law states that every driver has already consented to provide a chemical test of breath, blood or urine if asked by a police so as to determine level of intoxication. If a motorist refuses to provide a chemical test, they will be automatically be considered guilty of DUI and have their license suspended for one year.
Each refusal increases the penalties for DUI; so it’s important to know that in Pennsylvania, refusing to provide the test will result in a worse penalty than the DUI itself. It is thus recommended that no matter how high you believe your level of intoxication is, that you consent to the test on the first request.
Conviction for DUI Drivers in Pennsylvania
Keep in mind that the “lookback period” for DUI offenses is 10 years, meaning that any offender who committed a DUI within 10 years of the current offense will experience worse penalties.
There are three categories of punishment for DUI offenders in Pennsylvania, depending on the BAC level of the offense:
Depending on the extent of intoxication, the motorist will suffer greater or lesser penalty.
How a DUI Attorney Can Help You
If you or someone in your family has been pulled over and charged for DUI, it is likely that you are asking questions such as: “How much is a DUI attorney?” “What are the DUI attorney fees?” and “Can I get a DUI attorney free consultation or DUI attorney payment plans?”
We can answer all of these questions and more when you contact the Law Offices of Thomas More Holland, calling 215-642-8141. Remember that we are accustomed to representing the common man against the big institutions such as large employers and insurance companies. We understand how car accident law works and know how to work aggressively against these large entities (which you can be assured, also have lawyers) on your behalf.
If you were in an accident recently and are in need of a DUI attorney, don’t wait. We can make this process much less painful for you and fight on your behalf to decrease your penalties for DUI