As of January 1, 2016, fourteen states have raised their minimum wage. Minimum wage in Delaware is now $8.25, compared to its neighbors: $7.25 in PA, $8.25 in Maryland, and $8.38 in New Jersey.
How much can I make on a full-time minimum wage in Delaware?
If you’re working the standard 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year (that means no vacation), you’ll earn about $66.00 a day. This amounts to $330.00 a week and $17,160.00 per year. The poverty line for a family of two people is $14,570 per year.
Delaware Demands Workers’ Rights
An $8.25 per hour minimum wage may not be the end of Delaware’s struggle for worker’s rights. This January, a bill that would raise minimum wage in Delaware to $10.25 per hour by the year 2020 barely passed the Senate. Now, the House of Representatives will have to give approval for this law to be set into motion.
Republicans and Democrats have argued over the viability of this law on whether it ultimately benefits the worker and hurts business owners or whether it serves all. Democrats argue that workers need to be recognized for the value they bring to the economy. Meanwhile, Republicans have argued that raising the minimum wage will put the burden on the entrepreneur, causing more businesses to lay off workers or even leave the state.
What is my right as a worker in Delaware?
Delaware employees are entitled to $8.25 per hour, unless you are under 18 in which case your employer can pay you $4.25 for the first 90 days. If your employer is not paying you that much, you have legal course of action. Know your rights. Minimum wage is the absolute lowest that anyone can be paid legally at a job, and your employer will be held responsible if that’s not the case.
If you’re not sure that you are being paid minimum wage or need a consultation for legal advice, please call us at TMH Law. We specialize in worker’s rights in Delaware, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey. We are experts on how the Fair Labor Standards Act was designed to protect you. We’ve fought for fair wages–and won! For your free consultation, call us at (215) 259-5288.
Minimum Wage in Delaware | Delaware Minimum Wage