Pennsylvania provides many rights to you as a worker. Are you taking advantage of these?

It’s simple: You need a workers’ comp Philadelphia lawyer who understands the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act and all its standards that your employer will never tell you about. Thomas More Holland has devoted himself and his career to protecting the rights of people like you. At the Offices of Thomas More Holland, we can help you to define your claim and argue a successful case. We will explain the Pennsylvania laws that will support your case for workers’ comp in Philadelphia. For now, we’d like to share about a few basics:

How does Pennsylvania define a Work Injury?

workers' comp PennsylvaniaAccording to the Section 301 (c ) (1) of the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act, a “work injury” is any medical condition, injury, or disease that has been caused by an employee’s job. A work injury can include pre-existing conditions and occupational diseases that are worsened by a person’s work. Broken bones, sprains, allergies, back problems, cuts– they can all be considered a work injury, and thus eligible for Pennsylvania workers compensation benefits.

What to Do

Sometimes clients ask if you are required to tell your employer that you were hurt on the job. The answer is yes. In Section 311 of the Workers’ Compensation Act, it specifies that you must notify someone of your injury within 21 days. The best approach is to tell your supervisor immediately. An employer and its insurance company also have 21 days after receiving notice of the injury to decide if it is work-related and to deny or accept the claim.

Wage loss benefits for your injury almost always have to be supported by medical proof from a doctor stating your injuries and your ability to return to work. When your claim is accepted for Pennsylvania Workers Compensation, all your medical bills will be paid for by your company’s insurance. According to Section 306 (f.1) (1) (i) of the Pennsylvania Workers’ Comp Act, you are only required to be treated by a “company doctor” for 90 days only if the employer:

  • Creates a list of at least 6 doctors/health care providers,
  • Provides a list of employee rights (in writing)
  • Obtains the employees'(your) written acknowledgement of having been informed of these rights.

When an employer does not follow all these steps, the employee has the right to go to any doctor he/she chooses.  

Pennsylvania Workers’ Comp at TMH Law

Your rights as a worker ought to be respected, but often they aren’t. You should be informed of the lawful processes if you are hurt on the job, but often you don’t learn about these. If you think you’ve experienced a work-related injury, come visit us at TMH Law. We guarantee the best legal services available for Pennsylvania Workers Comp law. Call us today at (215) 458-2084 for a free consultation.