Chances are there’s not much known about workman’s comp Delaware employees are due until there’s been an injury at work. It benefits you, the employee, to know what your rights are and what you can do in case your workers compensation is denied.
Workman’s Comp Delaware
The law in Delaware requires every private and public sector employer to carry workers compensation insurance if they employ even only one person. Workman’s Comp insurance provides medical benefits, temporary total disability benefits, temporary partial benefits, permanent impairment benefits, disfigurement benefits, and death benefits for employees who sustain on the job injuries, diseases, or illnesses.
Steps to take when injured on the job
What should you do if you’ve been injured or are suffering from a disease caused by your occupation?
- Immediately notify your employer (in writing) of your injury, illness or disease once you are aware of it happening. If you do not submit a notice of injury you will not be eligible for workers compensation.
- You have 90 days after the accident to notify your employer of your injury. You will not receive compensation until your employer is notified of the injury.
- Your employer will then give you a list of physicians to examine your injury. Upon request from the employee, the employees can see their own doctor for examination of their injury, disease, or illness.
Once you’ve reported your injury, your employer has 10 days to file a First Report of Occupational Injury or Disease with their insurance carrier and the Office of Workers Compensation. If your employer denies the workers comp claim, you have 2 years from the time of the accident to file a petition for compensation due to the Office of Workers’ Compensation.
To file a petition for compensation due, contact the Law Offices of Thomas More Holland, where we’ll fight for the workman’s comp Delaware employees deserve!
Related Tags: Workman’s Comp Delaware | TMH Law Specializing In Workman’s Comp Delaware